Why we love comics

This past weekend I participated in an event at the Charles M. Schulz Museum to celebrate the launch of Boom’s Peanuts tribute book and also to commemorate the 65th anniversary of Schulz’s comic strip debut.

It’s been a crazy year for Peanuts, leading up to the release of the first ever CGI movie and all of us that work at the Schulz studio have been carrying a huge workload. Leading up to this event at the museum I would say that I’ve been feeling stressed and burnt out. But then something magical happened. A group of cartoonists got together to talk about comics, share tips on drawing tools, sketch for fans and then eat tacos outside Schulz’s studio. And I found myself falling in love with the art form of comics all over again. I felt refreshed. Spending time with a group of talented cartoonists made me remember why I love comics so much. Comics are simple, accessible, heartfelt, personal, friendly and inspiring.

Thanks to Lex and Jessica for helping organize this event and to all the cartoonists who attended: Thank you! (I’m afraid to try and list everyone for fear I miss someone.)

Brent Anderson was in the audience and responded to something that Paul Pope said from the stage. I’m paraphrasing, but basically Paul observed that the daily Peanuts comic strip was like a post card to each of us directly from Schulz’s psyche. And Brent responded from the audience by saying that if that was the case then this event was our love note back to Sparky. Brent, you couldn’t have been more right about that.

IMG_6534 IMG_7657 IMG_7658

Leave a Reply

